Uganda Bound!

Some of you I have been able to talk to in person and some have heard through word of mouth, but whatever the case, I am excited to share with you that at the end of the summer, I will be heading to Uganda for a year. The Mennonite Central Committee has a program called SALT (Serving and Learning Together) that places recent graduates in a variety of year long positions. Starting in August, I will be working at an all girls boarding school called Stella Matutina in northern Uganda.

Honestly, I couldn’t be more excited about the opportunity. I’m not really sure what to expect, but I think that generally my role will be to get to know the girls and care for them in whatever ways that I can. There are about 200 high school students there, and whether it means meeting one on one, tutoring math and physics, helping with a water project, or leading Bible studies and other group sessions, I will be doing what I can. My job is to engage people’s stories and share my own, and I love that. I hope that God uses this year powerfully to shape both their lives and my own.

Some of you have asked how you can support me this year, and there are a couple of ways. First, PLEASE join me in praying. Imagine what God could do and join me in praying for that vision. I would love to partner with you! I would like to use this blog as an avenue to share some of what I’m learning as well as specific prayer requests along the way, and I will try to keep it updated while I am overseas.

Also, this is a volunteer position so I am raising support this summer. If you want to help with that, you can do so through MCC’s giving registry. That would be awesome, but please don’t feel pressured!

Finally, please do let me know how you are doing and how I can be praying for you. I am away at Summer’s Best Two Weeks this summer and then internet where I’ll be in Uganda is unreliable, but I would love it if you emailed or Facebook messaged me updates of your lives. I will get it eventually and I’d love it!

There are so many things that I am hoping for this year, and I’ve written some of them in the About page so that you can understand more of what I am thinking and what I desire. If you have time, I would love it if you were able to read that! Many blessings!

Madi

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Uganda Bound!

  1. Gabby Nies says:

    AHH this is so exciting! I am praying for you! For some reason I thought you were already abroad. I am excited to hear what God has in store for you.

    Like

Leave a comment